Heads-Up About A Scam (read THIS!)
Okay … so I was (nearly) scammed yesterday (hey … I am HUMAN, y’know …). Here’s what happened (and, listen … keep yer eyes peeled, okay? It could happen to you!):
As most of you know, I’ve got a popular identity as The Rock Relic — thus, I subscribe to different legit oldies-rock music groups on the web. Well, a “member” of one of these groups (turns out, he wasn’t part of it at all!) emailed and invited me to join some new “group” called Grouply. Heard of it yet? Well, if yer in the entertainment biz, you might yet …
Anyway, the dude who invited me (some freak named Bob Steed … aka Bob Postie) asked for my Yahoo! address and password (yeah? I was dumb enough … I’ll admit that. But, then again, how well does your judgment work after a straight-48?).
No other word from the guy or the “group”; normally, legit ones send welcome emails, tutorial or user/password reminders). From this goon, not a word …
BUT …
I did get a zillion (okay … one-hundred-ten, then) emails on some of the worst topics imaginable (no, I deleted all of ‘em!).
Worse than that, though, was realizing what I’d done and that this creep could be sendin’ emails out from my inbox (remember, he had the password!).
So I checked my “sent” folder. Nothing. But there was one little ditty in my draft section … and, man, it coulda gone off like a bomb if the perp had sent it!
Now, I know a lot of folks around the QC who’s involved in music in every capacity — a few news reporters, and some TV people. If any are reading this, remember:
GROUPLY IS A FRAUD!! TREAT IT (and any emails from a “Bob Postie”) AS SUCH!!
I know this is a short one, and has no other news in it, but THIS is something that’s gotta be spread … (oh, yeah … I changed my passwords to all my sites after gettin’ the 411 from my musical mates in the UK and California)
Remember the last words of Emo Phillips in concert? Ahhh, well … live and learn!”
So just consider this a “heads-up” from someone who does and has …

August 26th, 2008 at 10:09 am
This is so wrong - have ever gotten an invite from other social networks like Facebook or LinkedIn.
You might want to check out this post: http://rowan.sexyhobbitsuperstar.com/2008/08/24/o-m-grouply
August 26th, 2008 at 1:32 pm
Bob, I appreciate your comment!
Yes, I’ve gotten offers from Facebook and LinkedIn, but haven’t tried them yet (I know they’re both honorable).
This “Grouply” thing is wrong on two major points:
First, NO reputable “group” is gonna want your email password … in fact, no reputable ANYONE will ask for that.
Second: I received an email from Bob Steed himself … and it turns out someone had stolen HIS identity and was using HIS name to send these out! So even MORE of a reason to believe its illegitimacy!
I’ll address this in another post tonight.
Thanks
Cheers,
Chuck